Because, they need me too…

Being a teacher and a mother can sometimes be very conflicting on the inside. I spend a lot of time with my students. During the week day I spend more time when them than my own son. Over the years I’ve come to the conclusion that teaching isn’t a job, but rather a calling. One day when Greyson is old enough I hope he understands that I am always his mother first, but they need me too…

*   *   *

Their faces are excited when I greet them at the door. Their minds are racing with all the stories they want to share from the weekend spent at home. I’m greeted with hugs, high-fives, and fist-bumps too.

We finally settle in and have our share time. A few might accidently call me mom… They smile, and giggle a little embarrassed, but it doesn’t bother me in the least. These are my mornings, Monday – Friday.

The day goes on, redirection is constant, reminders never ending, and the questions too! Snack time rolls around and there are always a few who are left out…Not in my class though, I’ve always got extras on hand.

The day rolls on and inevitably feelings get hurt, but I’m always there to interject and set things right.

Skinned knees, bruises and bumps are all a part of elementary recess, but I’m there to  help and make sure they’re taken care of. You see, each child of mine though patience is always required is a part of me and my heart. There are days when they are sad, and I’m there to cheer them up. There are days where they are happy, and I’m always there to share it. There are days when they just need someone one to listen, and I’m happy to lend an ear.

I’ll always be there. Why? Because, they need me too…

Leave a comment